Monday, September 30, 2013

September 30, 2013

Paper Maps – The Hedonist - Darker Lights – Original Sound (Toronto)
Field Assembly – Through a Bottle Through a Well - Narco – IND (Edmonton)
Prairie Cat – Beautiful Baby - Got Nothing – Triple Crown (Vancouver)
Alex Vissia – Heatwave - Young Love – Root Cellar (Edmonton)
Delbert & the Commotions – What's Your Name? - Let Me See Ya Dance – IND (Nepean, Ontario)
Groenland – Criminals - The Chase – Bonsound (Montreal)
Bear Mountain – Faded - XO – Last Gang (Vancouver)
Islands – Death Drive - Ski Mask – Manque Music (Montreal)
Royal Canoe – Button Fumbla - Today We're Better Ourselves – Nevado (Winnipeg)
Fur Trade - Don't Get Heavy – Last Gang (Vancouver)
Austra – Sleep - Olympia – Domino (Toronto)
Braids – Amend - Flourish//Perish – Flemish Eye (Montreal)

-The Polaris Prize Gala was last week, and when introducing Metric, Sebastien Grainger announced that he would have two albums in the running for next years Polaris. One will be the previously hinted at reunion album from Death From Above 1979, and the second will be a solo album entitled Yours to Discover. This album has been in the works for over 5 years, and it will finally be out on November 12 via Last Gang.
-Speaking of the Polaris Gala, Godspeed You! Black Emperor took home the award with their fourth LP,  'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! The Montreal band beat out many bands for this prestigious award, Metric, Young Galaxy, Tegan & Sara and many others, but were not in attendance to accept the award. The award was accepted by the president of Constellation Records. The next day the band released a letter questioning the purpose of the Polaris Prize and why an expensive gala would be held in times of economic struggle. They donated the 30 grand winning to prisoners in Quebec.

No comments:

Post a Comment